Mixed results for Standing Construct KTM at the MXGP round of Valkenswaard

The Standing Construct KTM Team had a mixed bag of results at the third round of the MXGP world championships at Valkenswaard in The Netherlands. The riders demonstrated competitive speed, but crashes and startline woes kept the results below what the pure speed indicated.

Max Anstie held the initial lead in the first race after passing world championship leader Antonio Cairoli. Anstie posted fastest race time lap after lap, but unfortunately stalled the bike at half race distance, crashing as a result. His riding pants hooked on a footpeg, which cost him some time. This dropped him to 16th after a promising start.  Anstie had to recover from a worse start in the second race to finish ninth.

Glenn Coldenhoff had a diabolical start in the first race after his bike hooked that of another rider. He battled to find his rhythm and finished 17th. In the second heat Coldenhoff started better, and rode a steady race to finish tenth, after yielding a position to teammate Anstie.

Ivo Monticelli had a stormer of a race in the first heat initially, battling for fourth spot. In the heat of the battle he collided with another rider and crashed heavily though. With a very buckled bike he soldiered on and salvaged three points for 18th spot.

Ivo visited the medical personnel for some stitches to his elbow between races. He launched into the second heat in tenth spot. He dropped to 13th for a while, but recovered to 11th, adding handsomely to his world championship tally.

Max Anstie finished tenth overall for the day, with Glenn Coldenhoff and Ivo Monticelli 12th and 13th respectively.  Anstie is tenth in the championship standings, Coldenhoff 12th and Monticelli 16th.

The team travels to Arco di Trento in Italy next for the next round this coming weekend.

Overall MXGP Valkenswaard:
1 Antonio Cairoli 50 Pnt
2 Clement Desalle 38 Pnt
3 Tim Gajser 36 Pnt
4 Jeremy van Horebeek 36 Pnt
5 Arminas Jasikonis 36 Pnt
10 Max Anstie 17 Pnt
12 Glenn Coldenhoff 15 Pnt
13 Ivo Monticelli 13 Pnt

World Championship Standings MXGP:
1 Antonio Cairoli 147 Pnt
2 Tim Gajser 125 Pnt
3 Clement Desalle 103 Pnt
4 Gautier Paulin 102 Pnt
5 Jeremy van Horebeek 102 Pnt
10 Max Anstie 56 Pnt
12 Glenn Coldenhoff 44 Pnt
16 Ivo Monticelli 35 Pnt

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search